RESOURCES
CLick here to view and download our brochure!
 
Resources


IS YOUR SCHOOL PREPARED TO PROTECT CHILDREN WITH LIFE THREATENING ALLERGIES?

Sabrina's Law

In September 2004 a tragic event occurred at an Ontario school.

A 13 year old girl died fromanaphylactic shock. As a result of this tragedy the Government of Ontario passed a Bill (Bill 3) called Sabrina's Law. This Bill requires that every school board in Ontario establish and maintain an anaphylactic policy and that every school principal maintain a file and develop an individual plan for each pupil who has an anaphylactic allergy. This must include, among other things, details on the type of allergy, monitoring and avoidance strategies, appropriate treatment, a readily accessible emergency procedure and storage for epinephrine auto-injectors where necessary.

The Bill requires that every school board establish and maintain an anaphylactic policy, which must include, among other things, strategies to reduce risk of exposure to anaphylactic causative agents, a communication plan for the dissemination of information on life-threatening allergies, regular training on dealing with life-threatening allergies, a requirement that every school principal develop an individual plan for each pupil who has an anaphylactic allergy and a requirement that every school principal maintain a file for each anaphylactic pupil.

The individual plan for a pupil with an anaphylactic allergy must include details on the type of allergy, monitoring and avoidance strategies and appropriate treatment, a readily accessible emergency procedure for the pupil and storage for epinephrine auto-injectors, where necessary.

Employees of a board may be preauthorized to administer medication or supervise a pupil while the pupil takes medication in response to an anaphylactic reaction, if the school has up-to-date treatment information and the consent of the parent, guardian or pupil. If an employee has reason to believe that a pupil is experiencing an anaphylactic reaction, the employee may administer an epinephrine auto-injector or other medication that is prescribed, even if there is no preauthorisation to do so.

The Bill provides that no actions for damages shall be instituted respecting any act done in good faith or for any neglect or default in good faith in response to an anaphylactic reaction, unless the damages are the result of an employee's gross negligence. The Bill preserves common law duties.

Copyright © 2006
The Legislative Library
Office of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario
Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Bienvenue au site d'epi-access international inc.
RESSOURCES
Cliquez ici pour regarder et télécharger notre brochure !
 


VOTRE ÉCOLE EST-ELLE PRÊTE À PROTÉGER LES ENFANTS ATTEINTS D'ALLERGIES CONSTITUANT UN DANGER DE MORT ?

Loi de Sabrina

En septembre 2004, un événement tragique s’est
produit dans un école en Ontario.

Une jeune fille âgée de 13 ans, est décédée à la suite d’un choc anaphylactique. En raison de cette tragédie, le gouvernement de l’Ontario adopta un projet de loi (Projet de loi 3 - Ontario) nommée la Loi de Sabrina à sa mémoire. Ce projet de loi exige que toutes les commissions scolaires en Ontario élaborent et actualisent des politiques sur l’anaphylaxie et que chaque direction d’école mette à jour un dossier et développe un plan individuel pour chacun des élèves qui souffre d’une allergie anaphylactique. Ceci doit inclure, en plus de renseignements supplémentaires, les détails du type d’allergie, les stratégies de surveillance et d’évitement, le traitement approprié, un plan d’urgence facilement accessible ainsi que l’entreposage pour les autoinjecteurs d’épinéphrine au besoin.

Le projet de loi exige que chaque conseil scolaire élabore et maintienne une politique relative à l'anaphylaxie, laquelle doit comprendre, entre autres choses, des stratégies visant à réduire les risques d'exposition à des agents pathogènes anaphylactiques, un programme de communication pour la dissémination de renseignements sur les allergies constituant un danger de mort, une formation régulière sur la façon de faire face à de telles allergies et l'obligation pour chaque directeur d'école d'élaborer un plan individuel pour chaque élève qui souffre d'une allergie anaphylactique et de tenir un dossier sur chaque élève anaphylactique.

Le plan individuel pour un élève qui souffre d'une allergie anaphylactique doit comprendre des renseignements sur le type d'allergie, les stratégies de surveillance et de prévention et le traitement approprié, des modalités d'urgence facilement accessibles pour l'élève et un lieu d'entreposage d'auto-injecteurs d'épinéphrine, au besoin.

Les employés des conseils peuvent être autorisés d'avance à administrer des médicaments à un élève ou à surveiller celui-ci pendant qu'il en prend pour contrer une réaction anaphylactique, si l'école a des renseignements à jour sur le traitement ainsi que le consentement du père, de la mère, du tuteur ou de l'élève. L'employé qui a des motifs de croire qu'un élève a une réaction anaphylactique peut lui administrer une auto-injection d'épinéphrine ou un autre médicament prescrit pour le traiter, même en l'absence d'autorisation préalable.

Le projet de loi prévoit que sont irrecevables les actions en dommages-intérêts introduites pour un acte accompli de bonne foi ou pour une négligence ou un manquement commis de bonne foi dans le but de contrer une réaction anaphylactique, à moins que les dommages ne résultent d'une faute lourde d'un employé, et il préserve les obligations qu'impose la common law.

Copyright © 2006
The Legislative Library
Office of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario
Toronto, Ontario, Canada.